Members of the topology group


Permanent Faculty

Martin Bridson

Geometric group theory, non-positive curvature

Christopher Douglas

Algebraic and geometric topology, 3 and 4-dimensional TQFT, elliptic cohomology

Cornelia Drutu

Geometric group theory, ergodic theory, applications to number theory

András Juhász

Low Dimensional Topology,Heegaard Floer homology

Marc Lackenby

Topology and geometry of 3-dimensional manifolds, group theory

Panos Papazoglou


Geometric group theory

Graeme Segal

K-Theory, field theories, applications to physics

Ulrike Tillmann

Algebraic topology, K-theory, applications to quantum field theory


Postdocs and visitors

Tobias Dyckerhoff - Postdoc

Ramses Fernandez - visiting DPhil student

Andre Henriques - Leverhulme Visiting Professor


Vladimir Voevodsky - Visiting Professor

Research students

Manuel Araujo

Henry Bradford -- Geometric group theory

Antonio De Capua

Giles Gardam

Simon Gritschacher

Renee Hoekzema

Claudio Llosa Isenrich

Robert Kropholler

Alexander Margolis       

Nina Otter

Mark Penney 

Hemanth Saratchandran 

Federico Vigolo

Thomas Wasserman

Gareth Wilkes

Hongyun Yon


Retired members

Former members

  • Andrew Stacey
  • Shengkui Ye
  • Richard Manthorpe
  • Rosalinda Juer
  • John Mackay -- Now at the University of Bristol
  • Will Cavendish
  • Alessandro Sisto -- Now a postdoc at ETH Zurich
  • David Hume -- Geometric group theory Now a postdoc at Université catholique de Louvain
  • Benno Kuckuck -- Geometric group theory
  • Martin Palmer -- Algebraic topology. Now a postdoc at the University of Münster
  • Andrew Sale -- Geometric group theory
  • Owen Cotton-Barratt -- Geometric group theory
  • Richard Wade -- Now a postdoc at the University of Utah
  • Jessica Banks -- Low dimensional topology. Now a lecturer at the University of Hull
  • Dawid Kielak -- Now a postdoc at the Mathematical Institue of the University of Bonn
  • Nicholas Touikan -- Now at Carleton University, Ottawa
  • Lars Louder -- Now at University College London
  • Alexandra Pettet -- Now at the University of British Columbia
  • Anne Thomas -- Geometric group theory and rigidity, lattices and buildings. Now a lecturer at the University of Glasgow.
  • Oscar Randal-Williams -- Spaces of manifolds, moduli spaces, diffeomorphism groups. Now a postdoc at the University of Cambridge.
  • Alexander Coward -- Topology and geometry of 3-dimensional manifolds. -- DPhil 2008, now a Research Associate at the University of Sydney.
  • Jeffrey Giansiracusa -- Moduli spaces, diffeomorphism groups, operads. Now a lecturer at Swansea University.
  • Karin Alcaraz -- Low dimensional topology.
  • Liam Wall -- Homology growth of congruence subgroups. Now working in consultancy in Oxford.
  • George Raptis -- Model categories, cobordism categories, Waldhausen K-theory. -- Now a postdoc at Osnabruck.
  • Jessica Purcell -- Three-dimensional manifolds, hyperbolic geometry, and knot theory. -- Now at BYU, USA.
  • Johannes Ebert -- Homotopy theory of surface bundles and moduli spaces of curves. -- Now faculty member at the University of Münster.
  • Liz Hanbury -- Homological stability of spin mapping class groups. -- DPhil 2007, now at Durham.
  • Graham Hope -- Farrell cohomology of mapping class groups, periodicity. -- DPhil 2006, now teaching secondary school.
  • Stelios Koundouros -- Low-dimensional topology. -- Now working in London.
  • Vivien Easson -- Topology and geometry of 3-dimensional manifolds. -- DPhil 2005, now working in higher education management at Queen Mary, University of London.
  • Rune Ljungmann -- Characteristic classes. -- Now back in Denmark.
  • Adam Piggott -- Geometric group theory. -- DPhil 2004, now Assistant Professor at Bucknell University, USA.